Africa Holidays

Sitting at one of the biggest continents on the beautiful planet we live on, Africa is a great and welcoming travel destination with 54 gorgeous and cultural countries.

Whether you want to volunteer at a school or chill by the beautiful crystal clear water at a clean beach, the choice is yours when it comes to the African continent. You pick your vacation destination for a safari, pyramid touring, or island hopping!

The best time to visit Africa shifts from south to east to north, depending on rainfall and wildlife. You can find somewhere for a beach holiday year-round, but most people go for the exceptional wildlife. In Kruger National Park, the winter dry season falls between May and October when game viewing is at its best, but to catch East Africa’s Great Migration, you’ll need to travel between June and early September. Gorilla trekking in Uganda and Rwanda is year-round, but Jan-Feb and June-Sept are much cooler months.

Southern Africa

Botswana, Namibia and South Africa: For game viewing, travel in the cool but dry months of July to October – or early November in Namibia – when wildlife clusters around the remaining waterholes. It can get busy, especially in hotspots such as Kruger – so book well ahead and expect higher prices. Animals disperse in the green season, from November to March, making it much harder to see – although there are more young animals present at this time.

If you’re heading to Cape Town, the rain pattern is reversed – with the scorching months of November to March being the driest.

Zambia and Malawi are best visited from late May to November – particularly towards the end of this period, as waterholes virtually dry up and the warmer spring temperatures are creeping up. This is also the best time for a walking safari in Zambia. Some accommodation in remoter areas may close in soggy March – May.

Ethiopia

The best time to go to Ethiopia is in the dry months of September to April – and particularly in September to October, when the land is still fresher and greener. Timkat, the biggest Christian celebration here, takes place in January. Mountain regions should be avoided in the long wet season. Cool and damp year round, the long rains from June and July up to October (with rain starting as soon as March in the Bale Mountains) create poor conditions for trekking, and clouds and fog obscure the glorious views. August is the coolest and wettest month – but bring very warm layers whenever you travel. Bale in particular can drop below freezing at night.

East Africa

In Kenya and Tanzania, the highlight is the Great Migration, best from July to October when the Mara River crossing takes place. Game is present all year, however, but the long rainy season in March to May (with the heaviest rains from April to May) is not the best time to visit as wildlife disperses and is hidden by vegetation, and rain can make roads impassable. However, there are some great deals available during this period, so it’s worth considering if you’re on a really tight budget. Be aware that Kilimanjaro climbs are risky in the wet season, and that afternoon downpours are heavier along the coast and islands. Some lodges in remoter southern Tanzania will close during this period.

For gorilla trekking in Uganda or Rwanda, be prepared if you are going during the rainy seasons of November, and from March to May – especially in Uganda, where treks usually take longer. It doesn’t rain all day every day, but comes in big bursts, and gorilla tracking permits may be heavily discounted – but if you aren’t a fan of rain, think about booking outside the rainy season.

Madagascar

Cyclones hit Madagascar in February, but changing weather patterns mean the cyclones are increasingly less predictable – so avoid January and even March to be on the safe side. October to December is baby lemur season.

North Africa

Spring and autumn offer the best weather for walking and cycling holidays in Morocco – though expect dust storms in the desert from February to April. Avoid the Sahara in midsummer; temperatures will be much more pleasant on the coast.

Africa Packages

Egypt Explorer

10 Days

Start and end in Cairo! With the In-depth Cultural tour Egypt Explorer – Felucca cruise & Red Sea, you have a 10 days tour package taking you through Cairo, Egypt and 5 other destinations in Egypt. Egypt Explorer – Felucca cruise & Red Sea includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

Highlight Morocco

15 Days

Start in Casablanca and end in Marrakesh! With the In-depth Cultural tour Highlights of Morocco, you have a 15 days tour package taking you through Casablanca, Morocco and 7 other destinations in Morocco. Highlights of Morocco includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

Joburg Overland

27 Days

Start in Nairobi and end in Johannesburg! With the Overland Truck tour Nairobi to Joburg Overland: Craters & Camping, you have a 27 days tour package taking you through Nairobi, Kenya and 14 other destinations in Africa. Nairobi to Joburg Overland: Craters & Camping includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

See Madagascar

14 Days

Start and end in Antananarivo! With the Active Adventure tour Highlights of Madagascar, you have a 14 days tour package taking you through Antananarivo, Madagascar and 8 other destinations in Madagascar. Highlights of Madagascar includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

Okavango

10 Days

Start in Johannesburg and end in Victoria Falls! With the Overland Truck tour Okavango Experience, you have a 10 days tour package taking you through Johannesburg, South Africa and 7 other destinations in Africa. Okavango Experience includes accommodation in a hotel and campsites as well as an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

Victoria Falls

9 Days

Start in Windhoek and end in Victoria Falls! With the Overland Truck tour Delta & Falls Eastbound: Baobab Trees & River Views, you have a 9 days tour package taking you through Windhoek, Namibia and 6 other destinations in Africa. Delta & Falls Eastbound: Baobab Trees & River Views includes accommodation, an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

Best International Flights

Airline
Fri, Sep 6 - Fri, Sep 13
LHR
London,Unit...
CDG
Paris,Fr...
USD
140.95
One Way
254.63
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Nov 4 - Fri, Nov 8
LHR
London,Unit...
JFK
New York...
USD
396.50
One Way
511.27
Roundtrip
Airline
Wed, Nov 20 - Sat, Nov 30
IST
Istanbul,Tu...
CAI
Cairo, E...
USD
167.39
One Way
360.08
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jul 10 - Sun, Jul 16
AMS
Amsterdam,N...
BER
Berlin,G...
USD
123.45
One Way
201.21
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jun 12 - Fri, Jun 16
LHR
London,Unit...
FCO
Rome,Italy
USD
130.50
One Way
291.94
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jun 19 - Fri, Jun 23
CDG
Paris,France
MAD
Madrid,S...
USD
132.00
One Way
283.31
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Sep 18 - Fri, Sep 22
KUL
Kualalumpur...
SIN
Singapor...
USD
33.21
One Way
98.15
Roundtrip
Airline
Tue, Jul 18 - Sun, Jul 23
HKG
Hong Kong,H...
TPE
Taipei,T...
USD
210.23
One Way
383.21
Roundtrip
Airline
Tue, Aug 1 - Tue, Aug 8
CGK
Jakarta,Ind...
SIN
Singapor...
USD
62.70
One Way
115.15
Roundtrip
Airline
Sun, Oct 1 - Sun, Oct 8
ICN
Seoul,South...
KIX
Osaka,Japan
USD
228.40
One Way
435.87
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Aug 14 - Sun, Aug 27
KIX
Osaka,Japan
TPE
Taipei,T...
USD
237.53
One Way
429.13
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Dec 1 - Sat, Dec 16
HKT
Phuket,Thai...
SYD
Sydney,A...
USD
285.38
One Way
812.99
Roundtrip
Airline
Sat, Aug 12 - Sat, Aug 19
CAI
Cairo,Egypt
KWI
Kuwait C...
USD
242.03
One Way
298.63
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Oct 16 - Sun, Oct 29
JNB
Johannesbur...
DXB
Dubai,Un...
USD
284.66
One Way
460.79
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Sep 18 - Fri, Sep 22
ABV
Abuja,Nigeria
ACC
Accra, G...
USD
452.13
One Way
845.51
Roundtrip
Airline
Sat, Jul 1 - Sun, Jul 16
JNB
Johannesbur...
PER
Perth,Au...
USD
677.82
One Way
1,211.50
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Nov 10 - Sat, Nov 25
CAS
Casablanca,...
MAD
Madrid,S...
USD
548.78
One Way
846.73
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jul 24 - Sun, Jul 30
CAI
Cairo,Egypt
LGW
London,U...
USD
511.44
One Way
816.56
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jun 12 - Sat, Jun 24
SFO
San Francis...
NRT
Tokyo,Japan
USD
612.01
One Way
1,260.19
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Oct 6 - Sat, Oct 21
LAX
Los Angeles...
MEX
Mexico C...
USD
225.04
One Way
380.60
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Sep 8 - Sat, Sep 30
MIA
Miami,Unite...
HAV
Havana,Cuba
USD
254.44
One Way
392.34
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Nov 3 - Sat, Nov 25
JFK
New York,Un...
CDG
Paris,Fr...
USD
387.23
One Way
668.49
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Dec 15 - Sun, Dec 31
SCQ
Santiago,Spain
SYD
Sydney,A...
USD
1,543.02
One Way
2,198.43
Roundtrip
Airline
Sat, Dec 2 - Sat, Dec 23
LAX
Los Angeles...
BKK
Bangkok,...
USD
671.60
One Way
1,167.67
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Nov 3 - Sat, Nov 18
BNE
Brisbane,Au...
NAN
Nadi,Fij...
USD
232.03
One Way
480.28
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Jul 7 - Sun, Jul 23
SYD
Sydney,Aust...
AKL
Auckland...
USD
153.78
One Way
223.08
Roundtrip
Airline
Sat, Sep 9 - Sat, Sep 30
PER
Perth,Austr...
LHR
London,U...
USD
947.18
One Way
1,883.15
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Sep 15 - Sat, Sep 30
DRW
Darwin,Aust...
DPS
Denpasar...
USD
477.40
One Way
1,030.36
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Nov 13 - Sat, Dec 2
BNE
Brisbane,Au...
NRT
Tokyo,Japan
USD
657.93
One Way
1,076.14
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Oct 13 - Fri, Oct 27
MEL
Melbourne,A...
LAX
Los Ange...
USD
671.95
One Way
1,128.48
Roundtrip

Prices found within past 7 days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.

Last Minute Flights Deals to Pacific