Germany Holidays

Germany is a country of contrasts – from abundant natural beauty to thriving cosmopolitan cities, from hard-hitting history to contemporary cool. There’s such an abundance of experiences to be had, that whenever you choose to visit Germany, you won’t leave disappointed. 

The summer months (between May and September) are the best months to visit Germany in terms of weather. Wherever about in Germany you stay, the weather will be pleasant. The later in the season you visit, the higher the chances are that you’ll experience some rain, but from May to June conditions are ideal for sightseeing.

While this is the best time to visit Germany in terms of weather if you’re hoping to avoid large crowds and peak season pricing on flights and accommodation, it’s probably best to plan your trip for the shoulder seasons in spring and autumn.

Spring (April to June) is a good option if you want to find that sweet balance between fewer crowds and lower pricing, while still enjoying pleasant weather. The weather in the spring can be somewhat unpredictable, sometimes offering you a glimpse of all seasons in just one day.

But if you’re not deterred by that, you can pick up some really good deals on flights and accommodation, and will enjoy a much more laid back experience without long queues.

Autumn (September to mid-October) starts off warm and mild in September but by October the cold is moving in and the weather can be slightly gloomier. Dazzling Autumn colors blanket the landscape, crowds are few, and you may even pick up a good deal on your room.

Winter is the quietest time to travel to Germany unless you’re hitting the Bavarian Alps for some winter sports or hoping to take in one of the many renowned festive markets. Germany gets fairly cold in winter, with snow and rain and grey skies. Dress warmly and check out our Germany packing list for insider info.

While it’s technically low season, the Christmas period does see a spike in tourism, so expect bigger crowds and inflated pricing around that time. November is very quiet, but be warned that a lot of hotels close at this time for maintenance before the Christmas rush, so plan ahead to avoid disappointment.

Best Time for Sightseeing in Germany

Sightseeing in Germany is best enjoyed in the summer months when the weather is warmer. However, this is the peak season when prices are higher than at other times of the year. Expect long lines at popular tourist attractions and jostling crowds wherever you go.

Late spring is a good time to enjoy pleasant (if a little variable) weather before the major crowds hit in summer. This will mean a much more enjoyable sightseeing experience without long queues. April and May can also yield some good deals on hotels and flights. 

Similarly, October can be a very good time for sightseeing once the Oktoberfest crowds have departed. It’s still warm and mild, with rain becoming more frequent towards the end of the month. Sightseeing at this time will be much more laid back without the throngs of other tourists. 

Germany Packages

Munich Oktoberfest

3 Days

Start and end in Munich! With the Festival & Events tour Munich Oktoberfest, you have a 3 days tour package taking you through Munich, Germany and Dachau,. Munich Oktoberfest includes accommodation in a hostel as well as an expert guide, meals and more.

Moselle River Cruise

8 Days

Start and end in Mainz! With the River Cruise tour Moselle River Cruise (Mainz-Mainz) – MS Crucevita 5*, you have a 8 days tour package taking you through Mainz, Germany and 7 other destinations in Germany. Moselle River Cruise (Mainz-Mainz) – MS Crucevita 5* includes accommodation in a hotel as well as meals and more.

German Riverscapes

9 Days

Start in Trier and end in Passau! With the River Cruise tour German Riverscapes from Trier to Passau (Trier – Passau), you have a 9 days tour package taking you through Trier, Germany and 10 other destinations in Germany. German Riverscapes from Trier to Passau (Trier – Passau) includes accommodation, an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

Best of Germany

12 Days

Start and end in Frankfurt-am-Main! With the In-depth Cultural tour Best of Germany (12 Days), you have a 12 days tour package taking you through Frankfurt-am-Main, Germany and 12 other destinations in Germany. Best of Germany (12 Days) includes accommodation, an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

Wine Lovers

11 Days

Start and end in Frankfurt-am-Main! With the Food & Culinary tour 11 Days of Pleasure for Wine Lovers, you have a 11 days tour package taking you through Frankfurt-am-Main, Germany and 11 other destinations in Europe. 11 Days of Pleasure for Wine Lovers includes accommodation, an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

Rhine Gourmet

8 Days

Start and end in Cologne! With the River Cruise tour PREMIUM Rhine Gourmet 2023, you have a 8 days tour package taking you through Cologne, Germany and 6 other destinations in Europe. PREMIUM Rhine Gourmet 2023 includes accommodation, an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

Best International Flights

Airline
Fri, Sep 6 - Fri, Sep 13
LHR
London,Unit...
CDG
Paris,Fr...
USD
140.95
One Way
254.63
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Nov 4 - Fri, Nov 8
LHR
London,Unit...
JFK
New York...
USD
396.50
One Way
511.27
Roundtrip
Airline
Wed, Nov 20 - Sat, Nov 30
IST
Istanbul,Tu...
CAI
Cairo, E...
USD
167.39
One Way
360.08
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jul 10 - Sun, Jul 16
AMS
Amsterdam,N...
BER
Berlin,G...
USD
123.45
One Way
201.21
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jun 12 - Fri, Jun 16
LHR
London,Unit...
FCO
Rome,Italy
USD
130.50
One Way
291.94
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jun 19 - Fri, Jun 23
CDG
Paris,France
MAD
Madrid,S...
USD
132.00
One Way
283.31
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Sep 18 - Fri, Sep 22
KUL
Kualalumpur...
SIN
Singapor...
USD
33.21
One Way
98.15
Roundtrip
Airline
Tue, Jul 18 - Sun, Jul 23
HKG
Hong Kong,H...
TPE
Taipei,T...
USD
210.23
One Way
383.21
Roundtrip
Airline
Tue, Aug 1 - Tue, Aug 8
CGK
Jakarta,Ind...
SIN
Singapor...
USD
62.70
One Way
115.15
Roundtrip
Airline
Sun, Oct 1 - Sun, Oct 8
ICN
Seoul,South...
KIX
Osaka,Japan
USD
228.40
One Way
435.87
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Aug 14 - Sun, Aug 27
KIX
Osaka,Japan
TPE
Taipei,T...
USD
237.53
One Way
429.13
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Dec 1 - Sat, Dec 16
HKT
Phuket,Thai...
SYD
Sydney,A...
USD
285.38
One Way
812.99
Roundtrip
Airline
Sat, Aug 12 - Sat, Aug 19
CAI
Cairo,Egypt
KWI
Kuwait C...
USD
242.03
One Way
298.63
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Oct 16 - Sun, Oct 29
JNB
Johannesbur...
DXB
Dubai,Un...
USD
284.66
One Way
460.79
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Sep 18 - Fri, Sep 22
ABV
Abuja,Nigeria
ACC
Accra, G...
USD
452.13
One Way
845.51
Roundtrip
Airline
Sat, Jul 1 - Sun, Jul 16
JNB
Johannesbur...
PER
Perth,Au...
USD
677.82
One Way
1,211.50
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Nov 10 - Sat, Nov 25
CAS
Casablanca,...
MAD
Madrid,S...
USD
548.78
One Way
846.73
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jul 24 - Sun, Jul 30
CAI
Cairo,Egypt
LGW
London,U...
USD
511.44
One Way
816.56
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jun 12 - Sat, Jun 24
SFO
San Francis...
NRT
Tokyo,Japan
USD
612.01
One Way
1,260.19
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Oct 6 - Sat, Oct 21
LAX
Los Angeles...
MEX
Mexico C...
USD
225.04
One Way
380.60
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Sep 8 - Sat, Sep 30
MIA
Miami,Unite...
HAV
Havana,Cuba
USD
254.44
One Way
392.34
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Nov 3 - Sat, Nov 25
JFK
New York,Un...
CDG
Paris,Fr...
USD
387.23
One Way
668.49
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Dec 15 - Sun, Dec 31
SCQ
Santiago,Spain
SYD
Sydney,A...
USD
1,543.02
One Way
2,198.43
Roundtrip
Airline
Sat, Dec 2 - Sat, Dec 23
LAX
Los Angeles...
BKK
Bangkok,...
USD
671.60
One Way
1,167.67
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Nov 3 - Sat, Nov 18
BNE
Brisbane,Au...
NAN
Nadi,Fij...
USD
232.03
One Way
480.28
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Jul 7 - Sun, Jul 23
SYD
Sydney,Aust...
AKL
Auckland...
USD
153.78
One Way
223.08
Roundtrip
Airline
Sat, Sep 9 - Sat, Sep 30
PER
Perth,Austr...
LHR
London,U...
USD
947.18
One Way
1,883.15
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Sep 15 - Sat, Sep 30
DRW
Darwin,Aust...
DPS
Denpasar...
USD
477.40
One Way
1,030.36
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Nov 13 - Sat, Dec 2
BNE
Brisbane,Au...
NRT
Tokyo,Japan
USD
657.93
One Way
1,076.14
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Oct 13 - Fri, Oct 27
MEL
Melbourne,A...
LAX
Los Ange...
USD
671.95
One Way
1,128.48
Roundtrip

Prices found within past 7 days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.

Last Minute Flights Deals to Pacific