France Holidays

Late spring and fall are best, with generally good weather and lighter crowds, though summer brings festivals, animated villages, reliable weather, and long opening hours at sights.

Europeans vacation in July and August, jamming the Riviera, the coast of Brittany, the Dordogne, and the Alps (worst from mid-July to mid-August), but leaving the rest of the country just lively enough for tourists. And though many French businesses close in August, the traveller hardly notices. Weekends in May can be busy — many French holidays fall in May — but June is generally quiet (outside of Paris).

Winter travel is fine for Paris, Nice, and Lyon, but you’ll find smaller cities and villages buttoned up tight. Winter weather is grey, noticeably milder in the south (unless the wind is blowing), and colder and wetter in the north. Snow is generally not an issue except in the mountains. Sights and tourist information offices keep shorter hours, and some tourist activities (such as English-language castle tours) vanish altogether. On the other hand, winter travel allows you to see cities through the lens of a local, as hotels, restaurants, and sights are much calmer.

What’s Blooming When

Thanks to France’s relatively mild climate, fields of flowers greet the traveller much of the year:

Mid-April–May: Crops of brilliant yellow colza bloom, mostly in the north (best in Burgundy). Wild red poppies (coquelicots) begin sprouting in the south.

June: Red poppies pop up throughout the country. Late in June, lavender blooms begin covering the hills of Provence.

July: Lavender is in full swing in Provence, and sunflowers are awakening. Cities, towns, and villages everywhere overflow with carefully tended flowers.

August–September: Sunflowers flourish north and south.

October: In the latter half of the month, the countryside glistens with fall colours, as most trees are deciduous. Vineyards go for the gold.

France Packages

Provencal Days

6 Days

Start in Avignon and end in Aix-En-Provence! With the In-depth Cultural tour Provencal Days, you have a 6 days tour package taking you through Avignon, France and 7 other destinations in France. Provencal Days includes accommodation in a hotel as well as meals and more.

$1384.00 AUD pp*

Romantic France

8 Days

Start and end in Paris! With the In-depth Cultural tour Romantic France, you have a 8 days tour package taking you through Paris, France and 13 other destinations in France. Romantic France includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, insurance, meals, transport and more.

$1729.00 AUD pp*

WW2 Normandy

5 Days

Start and end in Paris! With the Explorer tour WWII D-Day Landing Beaches & Battle of Normandy, you have a 5 days tour package taking you through Paris, France and 3 other destinations in France. WWII D-Day Landing Beaches & Battle of Normandy includes accommodation, an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

$2439.00 AUD pp*

Mont Saint Michel

3 Days

Start and end in Paris! With the Historical tour 3 Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint Michel & Loire Valley Castles, you have a 3 days tour package taking you through Paris, France and 10 other destinations in France. 3 Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint Michel & Loire Valley Castles includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

$1083.00 AUD pp*

Mountains Corsica

8 Days

Start and end in Ajaccio! With the Hiking & Trekking tour Mountains & Villages of Corsica, you have a 8 days tour package taking you through Ajaccio, France and 4 other destinations in France. Mountains & Villages of Corsica includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

$2349.00 AUD pp*

Independent Paris

4 Days

Start and end in Paris! With the In-depth Cultural tour Independent Paris City Stay, you have a 4 days tour package taking you through Paris, France. Independent Paris City Stay includes accommodation, an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

$729.00 AUD pp*

Best International Flights

Airline
Mon, Mar 6 - Fri, Mar 10
LHR
London,Unit...
CDG
Paris,Fr...
USD
82.00
One Way
151.93
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Apr 7 - Sun, Apr 9
LHR
London,Unit...
JFK
New York...
USD
396.50
One Way
519.72
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, May 8 - Sun, May 14
IST
Istanbul,Tu...
CAI
Cairo, E...
USD
183.01
One Way
356.75
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Feb 6 - Mon, Feb 13
AMS
Amsterdam,N...
BER
Berlin,G...
USD
98.10
One Way
133.52
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jun 12 - Fri, Jun 16
LHR
London,Unit...
FCO
Rome,Italy
USD
114.99
One Way
246.20
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jan 23 - Sun, Jan 29
CDG
Paris,France
MAD
Madrid,S...
USD
82.30
One Way
126.29
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Mar 20 - Fri, Mar 24
KUL
Kualalumpur...
SIN
Singapor...
USD
31.08
One Way
97.09
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jan 23 - Fri, Jan 27
HKG
Hong Kong,H...
TPE
Taipei,T...
USD
268.70
One Way
397.71
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Feb 6 - Fri, Feb 10
CGK
Jakarta,Ind...
QPG
Singapor...
USD
184.66
One Way
293.21
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Jan 16 - Fri, Jan 20
ICN
Seoul,South...
KIX
Osaka,Japan
USD
298.44
One Way
382.24
Roundtrip
Airline
Wed, Feb 1 - Fri, Feb 24
KIX
Osaka,Japan
TPE
Taipei,T...
USD
536.40
One Way
752.38
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Mar 10 - Fri, Mar 24
HKT
Phuket,Thai...
SYD
Sydney,A...
USD
294.50
One Way
414.10
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Feb 6 - Mon, Feb 13
CAI
Cairo,Egypt
KWI
Kuwait C...
USD
195.30
One Way
279.69
Roundtrip
Airline
Thu, Mar 2 - Tue, Mar 21
JNB
Johannesbur...
DXB
Dubai,Un...
USD
386.60
One Way
531.31
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Mar 20 - Fri, Mar 24
ABV
Abuja,Nigeria
ACC
Accra, G...
USD
450.94
One Way
809.08
Roundtrip
Airline
Sat, Jul 1 - Sun, Jul 16
JNB
Johannesbur...
PER
Perth,Au...
USD
677.82
One Way
1,211.50
Roundtrip
Airline
Wed, Feb 22 - Sat, Feb 26
CAS
Casablanca,...
MAD
Madrid,S...
USD
182.10
One Way
244.75
Roundtrip
Airline
Tue, Jan 10 - Sat, Jan 28
CAI
Cairo,Egypt
LGW
London,U...
USD
496.20
One Way
630.79
Roundtrip
Airline
Tue, Jan 10 - Sat, Jan 28
SFO
San Francis...
NRT
Tokyo,Japan
USD
930.22
One Way
1,280.72
Roundtrip
Airline
Thu, Feb 2 - Mon, Feb 13
LAX
Los Angeles...
MEX
Mexico C...
USD
210.60
One Way
339.90
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Mar 20 - Sun, Mar 26
MIA
Miami,Unite...
HAV
Havana,Cuba
USD
254.44
One Way
392.34
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Mar 3 - Sun, Mar 12
EWR
New York,Un...
CDG
Paris,Fr...
USD
387.23
One Way
595.47
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Mar 3 - Sun, Mar 26
SCQ
Santiago,Spain
SYD
Sydney,A...
USD
976.55
One Way
1,395.47
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Apr 7 - Sun, Apr 23
LAX
Los Angeles...
BKK
Bangkok,...
USD
660.50
One Way
986.00
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Feb 17 - Sun, Mar 5
BNE
Brisbane,Au...
NAN
Nadi,Fij...
USD
298.22
One Way
470.28
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Mar 10 - Sun, Mar 19
SYD
Sydney,Aust...
AKL
Auckland...
USD
342.10
One Way
499.35
Roundtrip
Airline
Mon, Apr 3 - Sun, Apr 23
PER
Perth,Austr...
LHR
London,U...
USD
1,080.22
One Way
1,444.09
Roundtrip
Airline
Sat, Feb 11 - Sun, Feb 19
DRW
Darwin,Aust...
DPS
Denpasar...
USD
586.40
One Way
727.53
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, Apr 21 - Sun, May 14
BNE
Brisbane,Au...
NRT
Tokyo,Japan
USD
817.33
One Way
1,028.88
Roundtrip
Airline
Fri, May 5 - Sun, May 21
MEL
Melbourne,A...
LAX
Los Ange...
USD
850.00
One Way
1,082.46
Roundtrip

Prices found within past 7 days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.

Last Minute Flights Deals to Pacific